Brookfield, Wis. – The Funeral Service Foundation’s Board of Trustees voted in three new trustees and elected its 2018-2019 executive committee at its annual fall meeting held during the NFDA International Convention & Expo last week in Salt Lake City, Utah.

Representatives from across the funeral service spectrum serve on the Foundation’s board. And in accordance with its bylaws, the board consists of 60 percent NFDA-member funeral directors. Trustees volunteer their time and talents to advance the Foundation’s mission to support funeral service in building meaningful relationships with the families and the communities it serves.

“Our three new trustees embrace the Foundation’s philanthropic spirit, and bring experience and expertise to the table,” said Bob Arrington, who was re-elected as the Foundation’s 2018-19 Chair. “Their energy, passion and dedication make them solid additions to the Board and underscores our vision of an improved end-of-life experience for families and their loved ones.”

The newest trustees are Mark Krause, president, Krause Funeral Homes & Cremation Service, Milwaukee, Wisconsin; Kelly Milberger, senior vice president, national sales, Global Atlantic Financial Group, Batesville, Indiana; and Kurt Soffe, owner, Jenkins-Soffe Funeral Chapels & Cremation Center, South Jordan, Utah.

In addition to re-electing Arrington as 2018-19 Chair, the Board of Trustees also re-elected Stephanie Kann, administrator, Worsham Community College, Wheeling, Illinois as chair-elect; and elected Eric Tanzberger, senior vice president and CFO, Service Corporation International, Houston, Texas as secretary/treasurer. Bill Wappner, president, Wappner Funeral Directors and Crematory, Mansfield, Ohio serves as immediate past president.

Victor March, president and CEO of March Funeral Homes, Baltimore, Maryland, transitioned off the board after six years of dedicated service to the Foundation.

2018 2019 Board of Trustees Web

2018-19 Funeral Service Foundation Board of Trustees (front row, l-r): Mark Krause, Steven Gackenbach, Immediate Past Chair Bill Wappner, Foundation Executive Director Danelle O’Neill, 2018-19 Chair Bob Arrington, 2018-19 Chair-elect Stephanie Kann, NFDA CEO Christine Pepper and Allan Cole. Back row (l-r): Jay Dodds, Dave McComb, Anthony Guerra, Jim Breaux, Joan Billman, Kim Medici Shelquist, NFDA Liaison R. Bryant Hightower, Brad Speaks, Kurt Soffe and J. Mark Busch. Not pictured: Eric Tanzberger, Kelly Milberger and Chris Trainor. The Board of Trustees wore bow ties in memory of sitting trustee and friend, Bob Biggins, who died earlier this year.